Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-29-2011, 02:16 PM   #1 
overtheedge

Cycling for Seed

Hi all, been reading a lot here since I got my bettas as gifts. Hoping y'all could provide some insight here. :)

I'm still new to having and maintaining my own aquarium, but already have two bettas in the household so I've been brainstorming ways to get that darned nitrogen cycle to work. Ammonia is out of the question, I will NOT cycle with any possibility of fatalities (already cried over two fish in the last month), and the other half thinks that refrigerated bacteria is a scam. So what we've been doing is testing the water religiously and dumping in Stability and Prime as needed. Oh, and water changes. So very tired.

Here's my idea: I'm wondering if anyone has done it or has any insight on possible failures/adjustments before I try it. I read that technically cycling can be done in any body of water, large or small. I want to set aside a small container of gravel with de-chlorinated water and feed it with fish food until it cycles and use the gravel to seed my tanks.

Any thoughts? :)
overtheedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:29 PM   #2 
bettafish15

What size is your tank, and is it filtered?
bettafish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:41 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum....

The nitrogen cycle will happen on its own when the right conditions are met and it can be safely done with the Betta provided that you are willing and able to make the needed water changes......

Good that you have a test kit for:ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH to monitor-this will make your job much easier.....