Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-01-2011, 03:23 AM   #1 
Belated

Exclamation Fin rot, or just a tear? :s (photos)

I went to feed my boy Sodapop a minute ago, and noticed a small hole in his tail. :s I'm now worried about fin rot; his fins have always been black-tipped, so I can't really judge by that. This seems to be the only hole, and it's about 1/3cm long, in the direction of his rays. Is this just a tear? (I guess he got caught on gravel/plants, if i is? :s), or fin rot?

I've got a few pictures here - I've circled the hole in one, and the rest are just to show the rest of his fins/body. Help, please - I'm a betta newb.

Housing
What size is your tank?: 20L (~5G)
What temperature is your tank?: Right now, 80F.
Does your tank have a filter?: Yes.
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?: No.
Is your tank heated?: Not currently, the weather is too hot.
What tank mates does your betta fish live with?: None.

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?: Omega One betta buffet.
How often do you feed your betta fish?: 2 pellets in the morning, 3 at night.

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change?: Twice a week.
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?: 50%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?: Prime.

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia: <0.5mg/L
Nitrite: N/A
Nitrate: N/A
pH: N/A
Hardness: N/A
Alkalinity: N/A

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed?: Small hole in tail fin. Maybe more ragged edges, but I could just be seeing things. :\
How has your betta fish's behavior changed?: Not at all, still flaring at me like crazy, and he just ate happily.
When did you start noticing the symptoms?: Today.