Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-01-2011, 09:54 PM   #1 
AKD1727

Erm...Strange shrimp question...

So I was telling my Dad about how I'm going to have a go at a planted shrimp bowl, as I have never tried keeping a planted tank before. "Cool!" He exclaimed. Wow, he seems excited! Maybe he's starting to catch the Betta bug. But no...his next comment made me crack up laughing for the next five minutes...."They'd go perfect in stir-fry!!!"

Yes, he's serious...

So now he's made me post this thread to ask you guys if Cherry Shrimp can be grown at home that will be fit for human consumption?!
AKD1727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 10:26 PM   #2 
roadplug

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKD1727 View Post
So I was telling my Dad about how I'm going to have a go at a planted shrimp bowl, as I have never tried keeping a planted tank before. "Cool!" He exclaimed. Wow, he seems excited! Maybe he's starting to catch the Betta bug. But no...his next comment made me crack up laughing for the next five minutes...."They'd go perfect in stir-fry!!!"

Yes, he's serious...

So now he's made me post this thread to ask you guys if Cherry Shrimp can be grown at home that will be fit for human consumption?!
The only cherry shrimp i know of are tiny. I'm sure my bettas would eat them so mine have their own tank with two Endler's Guppies. I believe the human edible shrimp are all salt water and would cost way to much to try and raise in a home aquarium. [I'm guessing here.]

Instead of the betta forum, you could try asking at the bigger, general tropical fish forum.
roadplug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:52 AM   #3 
Silverfang

ROFL!

That made me laugh, your father must not have much of an appetite. Perhaps if you showed him just how big they are he would understand.