Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-02-2011, 07:53 AM   #1 
Anitax3x

Question New to planting Need answers

Hey guys. I have a 10 gal divided 3 ways, recently just nixed all my filters ( had 2 above water ) because my guys really didn't like them, ( they have big fins ) and no matter how I baffled them, they seemed to un-baffle themselves. Whatever water changes are no big deal to me anyways. I was wondering, if I were to tear down this tank, and plant it, what should I do?
I was thinking of using planter's soil but I'm kind of new to gardening period, so if there are any good brands ? special types?
Does the soil need to be capped off?
Should I just use an aquatic planting sand instead?
What has worked best for you?
Now the fun part
PLANTS!!!!!!!!! I did some reading on the sticky for plant care, I would just like some people who have been there done that give me what worked for them as well. Can't go wrong with too much information!

I currently have in my 10 a lonely mossball. My other 10 has anubais and lucky bamboo
I was thinking of adding another lucky bamboo, ***leaves above water
I'd love to add anubais but since I have it in two tanks, they're rather small, should I buy more, or propogate what I have?
How would I go about that safely?
Also with the mossballs, I heard you can do that as well (propogate them) ? should I? or is it not worth it?
Also, Any other plants I should Add?
I heard anacharis is great for beginners?
Any other kinds you'd recommend?
Here is a picture of my current setup

That is white petco sand I'm really quite fond of it, easy to clean.
Anyways I really do appreciate answering my questions!