Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-14-2011, 11:13 PM   #1 
Enbarr

Good and bad news...

Well, yesterday, I had bought a new Betta. He was a halfmoon double tail male. Unfortunately, I had to return him as he was much too aggressive to my tetras. :( However, while checking out the fish store, I decided to try another Betta. He was advertised as a halfmoon but I think he may be more of a delta (though I am no expert at all when it comes to this). He seems to be okay with the fish. In the beginning, he would give a little charge if a fish got in his way, but even that has seemed to decrease a bit. The picture doesn't do his color any justice, but I thought I'd give it a try anyways.
If anyone out there knows his type (halfmoon/delta/?), please let me know... :)
Enbarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:36 PM   #2 
purplemuffin

Get him to flare! :) If he's halfmoon he will have a full half circle tail. A delta will look more like this < )
purplemuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 08:30 AM   #3 
vilmarisv

He looks like a delta or super delta. Notice the round edge on the caudal tail fin.
Halfmoon caudal should be a straight half circle D
He's super pretty! Very good choice! I hope he works out for your community tank.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:36 AM   #4 
1fish2fish

Looks like a delta.

Did you add him to the community tank without quarantining him? Not to alarm you but that's probably not the best idea since you don't know if he could possibly be carrying some illness. I foolishly added a new fish to my sorority after only a week of QT and lost all but one of my females and half my neon tetras to columnaris. They went from healthy to dead in less than 12 hours. Probably $100 or more worth of breeder females... lost.