Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-17-2011, 11:37 PM   #1 
LyzzaRyzz

Smile Hello from Lil' Rhody! [Rhode Island]

Hi everyone!
Im Lyzz, 22, and I live in Rhode Island.
Im a college student, and an avid fish and aquarium enthusiast. =]

Im new to this website, so Ill tell you a little about my tank friends, and a few other non-finned family members I have

First and foremost, are my bettas, Purp and Bosco. Their both veiltail males, and they live in a divided 2.5 gal tank that is filtered on one side, and heated on the other, and Im having trouble getting the heater and filter to work on both sides, even though there are holes in the divider.
Also, my poor little guys came from the pet store with ick, and once I got rid of those, I discovered that they has external parasites. Im currently treating for them with betta revive, trying to up the temp, [though with the divider problems, its hard] and salt. thier already looking even more peppy. Any advice you guys can give with them, would be wonderful!

Secondly, I have my koi. All in all, we have three koi, and two goldfish that live in a pond in my back yard, though it isnt deep enough for them to winter in. [tried that..dead fishes =[ ]
Three of the koi are in a tank by themselves, and they are all pretty big, about 7-8 inches each.
But two koi didnt grow very much, one being about five inches and the other about four. They are not in a seperate ten gal tank in my room, where Im seeing if i can fatten them up for the summer. One of them, the smaller one, we call him Sick Fish, cause he had swim bladder problems, and seems a little dopey, but hes been getting better, but im not sure if hell be ready for the summer, so ive decided to keep him in the tank, and once may comes, get him some tank mates, after the other koi is removed. Anyone with advice on kois in tanks feel free to give me your knowledge!