Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2011, 06:17 PM   #1 
peaches3221
Member
 
peaches3221's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
do u have an aquascene 3.5?

http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...uctId=11051817

just bought it for my new guy, is it any good? also, have you had any problems with the LED's dying? how many hours a day do you have them on? I ask because it says not to let them run continuosly, I would keep them on a timer from about 8 am to 9 pm?
peaches3221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:43 PM   #2 
Salamandair
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Florida
I have that exact same tank, Have it since August

I leave mine on about 12-13 hours a day and I haven't had an issue with the LEDs dying. Since it's acrylic, it IS a little harder to clean (I have spots from my thermometer that I can't seem t get out!), but overall it's a good tank. It IS a little tall, however, so expect to see your Betta in the middle/towards the top of the tank :)
Salamandair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 06:54 PM   #3 
peaches3221
Member
 
peaches3221's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Ok thank u very much! Is the filter any good? I may just take it out because I dont want to go through the hassle of cycling. Yeah it is a little big/tall but my PK boy is SUPER active so I wanted to get him a bigger tank, the one I currently have him in is really narrow.
peaches3221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:36 AM   #4 
Salamandair
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Florida
Sorry for the late reply! I just moved, so I was still getting situated in my new place :)

As for the filter, I found it a little strong for my taste, so I didn't bother. I heard it's kind of pointless to cycle anything under 5 gallons anyway.
I think this tank will be perfect for him :) Good luck!
Salamandair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:47 AM   #5 
peaches3221
Member
 
peaches3221's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
hehe thats ok!

Well I have a 5 gal minibow too, I might try to cycle that... I have been getting ammonia spikes in his 2.5 so I dunno how much a gal difference with out a filter would help? :/

Last edited by peaches3221; 12-30-2011 at 07:50 AM.
peaches3221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 09:10 PM   #6 
Salamandair
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Florida
I'm not one of the more knowledgeable ones about that, but I think that's just due to not enough water changes. How often do you do a WC?
Salamandair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top-Fin Aquascene 5 aquarium sucks shell85 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 11-02-2010 12:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.