Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-27-2011, 08:00 PM   #1 
mystee3

Question New Betta for Christmas

My 5 year old son received a Betta fish for Christmas, in a bowl, with a little cup of flakes and a little cup of blue granules. I'm not even sure what they are, but I was told to put a few flakes in once a day and the blue granules in once a week. Does anybody know what this stuff is?

I am new to the fish world, but am a dog lover, dog advocate, and volunteer with local rescue groups. I have the utmost respect for animals of all kinds, which is what brought me to this site.

After reading all the helpful information on this site, I am going to head out tomorrow in search of a small tank, heater, pellets, and water treatment supplies. Thank you to the betta community here for all the great information on this site.

Do you have any recommendations on what kind of small tank to get? Is there a place I can order on line, or will PetSmart or PetCo have the supplies I need? Also, how do I keep this fish happy while in this fish bowl? Should I change some of the water even though I don't have chemicals to treat the water yet? (aside from the mystery blue granules) Should I just let it go another day?

Thanks in advance for the advice!
mystee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 08:18 PM   #2 
vilmarisv

This is a good tank and great value for the size.
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hawkeye-5-...-Pets/14660258

In the meantime, try to keep your fish as warm as possible. Heaters are very important for bettas, they will get lethargic and they immune system will weaken in cold water.

I don't know what the blue granules are but I wouldn't change his water. He needs dechlorinator and the water he's currently in was probably treated.