Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Pictures
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-28-2011, 01:23 PM   #1 
mgb6

My first betta! but a concern :/

Hey! This is my first post on this site, but I've been lurking on this forum for a few weeks, brushing up on everything I need to know before getting a fish. I got my betta on Monday and am excited to post some pics, but now I'm concerned. I'm afraid he may have fin rot... the edges of his fins are dark, plus his tail seems quite short compared to the pics I've seen on here. I'm not sure if it's been dark like this since I got him and I just didn't notice, or if it's developed over the past couple of days. I'm a newbie so I have no idea if I'm right, so I'm hoping someone on here can tell me for sure.

These pictures don't really do his colors justice but you can see the dark edges on his fins. Thanks for looking, hopefully somebody can fill me in.
mgb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:33 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum and to the wonderful world of Betta keeping.....

What a lovely fella...nice find....to me it looks more like normal pigment-but his fins are a bit tattered looking and I suspect that was due to how he was kept before you got him....

How is his overall behavior-acting okay, responding to you, eating...etc....no clamp fins, buoyancy, flashing (itching/scratching on objects) lethargic...etc....

The very best treatment is clean, dechlorinated, like temp water from water changes and good nutrition.....

What size tank, filter, live plants, additives used, water temp, what are your water change plans-how often and how much, type of food and feeding plan-also how is his appetite.....

Last edited by Oldfishlady; 12-28-2011 at 01:35 PM.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 02:28 PM   #3 
mgb6

Hello, thanks so much for your response.