Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-28-2011, 08:05 PM   #1 
Magikarp

Baby betta advice?

Hey guys, I just purchased a baby betta from Petco about one week ago. I set him up in a 10 gallon tank with a heater + filter. I've been researching about bettas for a couple of months now, but havent really looked into baby bettas. I'm a bit nervous since I've heard that it can be difficult to take care of these guys.

Here's my tank (both plants are silk plants)

I put 2 layers of pantyhose over the filter and baffled it so the current wouldn't be too strong.

The heater stays at a constant 80-81F.

He's been swimming around a lot and has been eating crushed betta pellets twice a day, equaling one full pellet a day. (he eats after the food sinks to the floor)

Is there any advice that can be given to me? His colors are amazing! A blue/red (delta i believe).

Magikarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:11 PM   #2 
Draug Isilme

When they sell betta's in stores, they sell them once they're mature- he's no longer a baby, he's a young adult ^.^
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:35 PM   #3 
1fish2fish

They've started selling very young bettas or bettas that are severely stunted to look young at petco.. sickening really.

He/She needs high quality, high protien food such as NLS growth formula, frozen brine shrimp, frozen daphnia, or frozen glass worms (mosquito larvae).

They need to be fed until they have a little bulge to the their tummy, at least twice daily.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 09:02 PM   #4 
Magikarp

Thanks for the help! I have a pack of frozen brine shrimp in the freezer. I'll be sure to feed him those instead of pellets from now on.
Magikarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 09:25 PM   #5 
Myates

What a cutie! Sounds like you are doing everything right, keep it up :)