Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-28-2011, 11:31 PM   #1 
Mavi

Problems with cloudy water

Hi. I'm new to the world of caring for bettas and I seem to be doing something wrong. I have an aquamarine veil tail betta named Colin, he is in a 5 gallon spherical bowl (this thing is hefty :P) With aquarium gravel, a small green and I large red plastic plant (I did the recommended test with a nylon on them) and a live bamboo stalk. He is in tap water treated with TopFin betta water conditioner and Stability, and is fed 3-5 betta food pellets a day (I make sure he eats each one) I'm not having any worries about his health, Colin seems happy, he swims, eats and has healthy looking fins and scales but for some reason his waters always cloudy. Even after a 100% change the water refuses to go clear. Is there something I should or shouldnt be doing? Although he seems fine now, I don't want this cloudiness to affect his health. Please, and help would be appreciated.
Another question I haves about heating his tank, the other day I bought a 7.5 watt heater said to increase his tank temp by 5-10 degrees. Unfortunately it doesn't have an adjustable dial and I don't want to stress him out by raising the temp too quickly. What do I do?
Thank you so much, I will appreciate any help :)
Mavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:28 AM   #2 
vilmarisv

The cloudiness sometimes comes with the water. He will be fine and the water should settle in a few hours or a couple of days.
I get that sometimes even when I age my water. Just make sure you're adding the water conditioner and it shouldn't affect him.

If you place the heater in the water with the betta and turn it on the water will heat up gradually and he will be fine. You do have to monitor the temperature of the water. 75 watts in a 5 galon won't do much so I wouldnt worry about it.