Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-28-2011, 11:05 PM   #1 
Kyleighs Mommy

New to this Betta thing... help! :)

Okay so I am a proud new owner of a Betta and I'm kinda falling for the obsession that I see lots of you have. I have a few questions and please don't be too hard on me because I am new to this.

1) My betta is in a 1.5 gallon :( I didn't know the tank should be bigger... darn PetSmart people. Dory (our betta) seems very happy and out going in his tank and has lots of bubble nests at the top! (That means he is happy right?)

2) I didn't know Bettas needed a heater! Again darn PetSmart! I'm glad I researched this stuff! I am planning on going out and getting a heater tomorrow! Any advice on these since its hard to regulate a heater in a smaller tank??

3) Question about my Bettas coloring. When I bought him he was almost all blue with a little few little dark spots on his face. He is now changing colors from blue to like a silver color and his face seems to be getting darker. Is this normal? I just want to make sure nothing is wrong... he seems happy and is very outgoing. I am just worried about the coloring.

4) The guy at PetSmart told me they try to feed the Bettas 3 times a week... and he said if I do it every day to only do it once and just like 4-5 little pieces. Is the correct way to feed? The container to the food says... feed several times daily in small amounts that will be consumed by fish within 3 minutes?? This had me a little confused.
Kyleighs Mommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:26 PM   #2 
lexylex0526

I hope this helps:)

Hi There and welcome:)