Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-03-2012, 10:27 AM   #1 
caesardelamer

Aggressive behavior after trauma

I am new to fish - got a Betta for Christmas. His name is Caesar de la Mer :)

I will just list all the stuff I've done so far, and hopefully someone can tell me if anything is wrong. I very well could be overreacting.

The first day we got him, we took him home, and I prepared his new tank that night. I used bottled water (only a half gallon tank for a pretty small Betta) and used a treatment because I didn't realize that was only for tap water. It was a conditioner for his fins though (Nutrafin) so I thought it would be ok. But once we got him in there I was terrified that maybe the water was too cold. So I put him next to the radiator and after a day or so he seemed to perk up, eat more, etc. I also have a plant in there that is not yet rooted but the idea is that it will root and then he'll have roots to eat from. It's a Pothos. And the tank came with some purple gravel. All was well.

Until the debacle that happened when I tried to change his water a week later. He managed to accidentally fall/jump (not sure) out of the net before I got him into his temporary receptacle. I didn't handle that very well, but my husband managed to get him into water fairly quickly. But he jumped around a lot on the kitchen counter before we got him into water and I was so terrified, let alone the fish. I'm sure it was pretty traumatic for him.