Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-07-2012, 05:18 PM   #1 
MJK87

Want to make sure I got the right items to dirt my tank.

Hello everyone.

I am setting up a 10 gallon planted tank and my painted background is finally dry and its time to set it up. Seeing how I am a recent college grad and none of my local pet shops have the desire to get in a plant substrate, I decided to save some money and dirt my tank. I went to lowes this evening and picked up a few things and I just wanted to make sure I got the right items before I go setting it up. I picked up miracle grow organic choice potting mix and natural play sand to use as a cap. Here are some pictures of the items I bought. Can someone verify if these items will work? I know the potting mix is most likely right but I wasent sure about the play sand. It was only 4 bucks so I decided to pick it up. Thank you.
Attached Images

MJK87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 05:34 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

There is a glare on the potting soil bag so I couldn't read it....but as long as there are no additives like ferts or that water holding stuff...it should be fine...be sure and sift it and get the larger pieces of organic stuff out...like big pieces of wood....

The play sand looks good....be sure and cap the soil with half as much sand...the sand is just to help hold the soil in place.....
For 10gal tanks I like to use 2in soil to 1in sand.....

I always start dry with both soil and sand and then make water changes until clear then scape and plant-change and refill again until clear....the water should be crystal clear when you are done. You don't have to worry about the dechlorinator until the finial refill....but don't forget it....