Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-09-2012, 02:29 AM   #1 
linharespeixoto

Help! DYING Betta. DON'T know what to do!

So i used to have bettas when i was a kid and teenager. I am NO expert. I just did what the pet stores told me… changed half the water every couple weeks…. made sure it was always clear… added the betta water drops in when changing water etc…

BUT my neighbour had a betta and when i went over to their house to help her with something today… i saw the betta in a bowl with water so brown and dirty you could not even see the fish properly. She said she was fed up and didn't really want him anymore. So i took the bowl home…. changed the water… added nutrafin betta plus tap water conditioner to it. I noticed right away that the betta has fin rot and is not swimming around. He is laying at the bottom of the bowl and not moving. it looks like his head is pointing upwards and his gills are a little puffed out (inflamed gill maybe??? I DONT KNOW!)

I called a pet shop and they told me to add a pinch of table salt to the bowl… so i did that.

I am feeding it freeze dried blood worms.

It sort of looks like there is a sore on the top of its head…but its not white or fuzzy or anything..just looks like a scrape.

Is there anything I can do to help this betta? He is a really pretty blue/green color and i know he USED to have red tipped fins…but now almost all the fins are gone…..

I don't know ANYTHING about bettas. Mine were always pretty healthy and lived for years…so I never had to deal with a sick betta until they were older.. I've had 2 before.. one that lived for about 3 and a half years and the other i had for 5 years.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!
linharespeixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 02:58 AM   #2 
Ajones108