Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-13-2012, 10:45 AM   #1 
VickieTrivellas

30g stocking ideas

Sorry if these sort of threads are common, but basically I've got a 30 gallon tank in my room, it currently houses 7 fancy goldfish, 2 bristlenose pleco's and 1 apple snail (overstocked I know). Well I'm getting an appropriate sized tank custom made soon for my goldfish and their gang and due to the large size will be leaving my room.
I currently keep Butcher, my giant betta in a 4 gallon tank on my desk, and was hoping to move him into the 30 gallon tank once the goldfish and gang have left.
The tank is a bit big for just one little fish I think, so I'd like some ideas on what compatible fish will go well in that tank :)
VickieTrivellas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 05:45 PM   #2 
animallover

Hi Vickie,
Does your Betta flare much? This is my first time to mix one of my Betta's with some Juli Catfish. He sits and stares at the 29 community and has never flared! I have been told here that Corycatfish are great to add with them, a group of four or more for your tank. People have tried certain tetras and the danios, but they are nippy, so keep in group of 6 or more. I also heard of White Cloud minnows, as for the other types like platty, mollies etc, I would ask again here to be safe. I am too nervous so I will stick with the Corys! Make sure you have plenty of plants and Hideys! Oh, add the other fish first and the Betta last!
animallover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:30 AM   #3 
VickieTrivellas

Ok, I was thinking of tetras, I'll look into it. And I didn't know about adding him last but it makes sense, I'll do that :)
He doesn't flare much, the only time I've seen it is when I provoked him by sticking a mirror in front of him lol

It'll be a while before this happens by the way, still saving for the new goldfish tank :P