Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-20-2012, 08:38 AM   #1 
BettaMommy531rip

Guppy tank?

So guppies are really gorgeous and all that, they come in gorgeous colors and everything, sort of like mini bettas. Also breeding guppies would be awesome because they are livebearers so there's not so much expense and ruckus and fuss, and danger than with bettas. I love bettas and I don't want to risk them by breeding them (I'm not that experienced). So can anybody tell me how many guppies to keep in a tank? What size should that tank be? Do I need a filter? I need a guppy expert!
BettaMommy531rip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:04 PM   #2 
fishy friend2

If I were you I would start out with something like a 10 gallon tank and 4 to 5 male guppies. And yes you would need a filter and you would also need to cycle it unless you are willing to buy a test kit and test the water DAILY. You would also need a heater
fishy friend2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:07 PM   #3 
MaisyDawgThirteen

I'd reccomend a 10 Gallon with a heater and filter. That's a must.
I'd keep anywhere from 3-5, as they must be in groups. Make sure that the female to male ratio is at least 2:1. Or just get all females! Don't get all males (like I did :P) because they can bring out some aggression. I think the best bet is to get all females, because they breed like rabbits! lol If you got 4 in a 10g, you could get 5 rasboras or tetras. They are a very rewarding fish, and hardy! I have 5 of them. :D 4 are in a 10g with a trio of rasboras. My other one is a a big fat bully, so he has his own 5g all to himself. I'll add 2 more rasboras soon. :)

I LOVE GUPPIES!
MaisyDawgThirteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:26 PM   #4 
fishy friend2

IMO I would never again buy a female guppie in my life, nver ever again. I cannot deal with all those babies for 9 months.