Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-22-2012, 12:18 PM   #1 
khatlady

Question How often to change water in 1.5 gallon with filter?!

I'm pretty new to this all. I got a betta for Christmas. He came in a small bowl. I got him a 1.5 gallon tank with a filter. This is the one

http://www.amazon.com/Tetra-29137-Wa...7256061&sr=8-1

I also added a heater to it and some gravel.

My questions are...
how often 'exactly' do I need to change the water in it?
How often per week and what percentages?
Also, do I ever take the gravel out and rinse it?

Here is a link to some pictures of the tank and fish... http://www.bettafish.com/album.php?albumid=3192

Thank you!

Last edited by khatlady; 01-22-2012 at 12:31 PM.
khatlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:26 PM   #2 
Pitluvs

I have these tanks, 4 of them. They were the tanks I started out with :)

I changed mine twice a week. 50% one day and then 100% 3 days later. I usually cup 50% of the water out and add 50% with a small airline tube (same temp water). For 100% changes, I would cup my Betta and set him aside. Then I would dump the water into the tub, wash off the plants/decoration with hot water and dry them. Then I would add water to the gravel in the tank, swish and empty until there is no more debris (poop or uneaten food). Then I would set it all back up and add treated water at normal temp and slowly accumulate my fish back to the tank :)

The filter that comes with the tank was the best filter I've ever bought for Bettas.
Pitluvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:33 PM   #3 
khatlady

Thank you Pitluvs... I have been doing at least a 50% change once weekly, but I guess I was a bit worried about doing a 100% change. Will that not ruin the biologicals in the tank?? Would that not create the 'new tank' syndrome?
khatlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:41 PM   #4 
Jodah