Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-26-2012, 07:42 PM   #1 
YarnLass

A couple of questions from a Betta newbie

Hello everyone,

I am totally new to keeping a Betta, and I wanted to ask a couple of questions that I haven't really found information on. My apologies if it's around somewhere and I just can't find it.

Background: I have a 3.5 gallon tank with one stalk of "lucky bamboo" and some artificial plants set up for a newly arrived female betta. I just introduced her to the tank today by acclimating her through bobbing her in the tank water, and gradually adding the tank water to her existing water. After approximately an hour and a half, when she was tolerating the gradual water adjustments without showing any stress lines, I introduced her to the tank.

The tank is not cycled, but the water levels were okay when I checked them. We're running at a steady 78F.

She seemed to take it well; she was swimming around and exploring for a while. She is showing some stress (stress lines, occasionally clamped fins). So far I've left the tank light off, and have let her be. She is on my dresser in the bedroom (a low traffic area) so there isn't much going on where she is right now.

My first question is: Are there any ways I can help reduce her stress? The tank is currently a little sparse due to financial constraints (I spent all my money on everything else!) but I plan to get a few more artificial plants, and a little house for her tomorrow.

My second question is: Can you cycle a 3.5 gallon tank? I see a lot of information for 2.5 gallon tanks, and then a jump to 5 gallon tanks, so I'm feeling a bit lost! I would like to be able to cycle my tank, and would love advice on how to make this work with my tank size. (It's the largest tank I could afford, and also the largest one I have room for.)