Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-28-2012, 06:01 PM   #1 
BarbieDragon

20 Gallon equip, tankmate questions

Hi everyone.
So I finally decided to get a betta fish. I'm planning on getting a male Half moon (not a specific one but I will get one.)
So far I have nothing which is why I am here to ask for help. I want a 20 gallon with a betta fish and some tank mates. And also I would like to have real plants. I know I need to get:
1. 20 gallon tank
2. Heater
3. Filter
4. Light
5. Gravel (bedding)
6. Siphon
7. Plants
8. Food (variety, bloodworms (snacks), flakes, pellets ect)
9. Water conditioner
10. water tester
11. Betta fish
12. Betta fish friends
13. Thermometer

Now the problem is I am completely new to the fish world and I don't know which brands are reliable, how anything works ect. So I would like recommendations of what to get (specific brands please!) because I don't really have time to like you know, go around find the best ones, compare prices ect. I live near a Petco so all the supplies should be able to be found there. I know it's asking for a lot but it would be very helpful! Also I would like to know what plants are good for the lighting you guys suggest and what tank mates are good for one betta in a 20 gallon. I was thinking 6 cories and some snails.... but we'll see! Or if you think a 20 gallon will take away from the betta and cories then i'm open to suggestions too. Thanks eveyrone! I'm hoping to buy everything tomorrow unless you advise against that!
BarbieDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:45 PM   #2 
BarbieDragon

Ok I did my own research ad here is what i got

1. 20 gallon tank
2. Heater: Aqueon Pro Heaters Submersible Aquarium Heaters up to 20 gallon $27
3. Filter: Aqueon Quietflow aquarium power filter. 5-20 gallons $14
4. Light:
5. Gravel (bedding)
6. Siphon: Aqueon Siphon with Bulb Vacuum Aquarium Gravel Cleaner $13