Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-30-2012, 08:26 PM   #1 
Gen2387

Driftwood question.

Soooo... I'm thinking of buying some driftwood for one of my tank. The questions I have are because I have NO experience with driftwood.
- Are there different types of driftwood and if there are, which one is better?
- Do I have to let it soak before putting it in the tank and if so how long?
- Is there anything else I should know about driftwood? Pros and cons?
Gen2387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:33 PM   #2 
Badjer

I believe Malaysian driftwood is the best. I have Mopani in my tank and have never had issues with it, but people say it can cause problems. I boiled my driftwood first to leech out all the tannins and kill off anything that might have been on it. I then let it soak in regular water for over 24 hours before putting it into my tank. One of the cons of driftwood is that it can develop a white-ish scummy fuzz. This is apparently normal, and is just kind of a pain. It's harmless, I just remove it with a toothbrush. Perhaps snails or something would eat it. I'm going to pick a snail sometime soon and see if it'll help. Otherwise, I love driftwood, especially with plants tied to it. Really adds a natural look to the tank. (:
Badjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:07 PM   #3 
thekoimaiden