Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-01-2012, 11:56 PM   #1 
LittleFishy531

please help my fish treating for popeye

Hi, I am new to bettafish.com and new(ish) to betta keeping. I bought a male halfmoon betta at petco on January 19. When I bought him he had one bigger cloudy eye I asked about it but they said it was normal because he was "fancy" Anyway I hopped on google the next day and realized he was sold to me sick and had popeye. I got maracyn 2 and treated him for five days. That didn't work so I did aquarium salt the next day, but then found this site about bettas and learned about epsom salt. This is my 8th day of salt, 7th of epsom and there is no progress. I started on 1tsp and worked up to 3 tsp. I don't know what to do next. I don't have the heart to return him.

Housing
What size is your tank? 1 gallon hospital tank. (5.5 gallon was set up today but not in use yet)
What temperature is your tank? n/a
Does your tank have a filter? no (new tank does)
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? no
Is your tank heated? no (new tank does)
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? none

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? pellets & bettamin
How often do you feed your betta fish? 2 pellets and a flake or two of bettamin daily. he mostly just spits out his food these past few days instead of eating it.

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? every day
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 100 percent
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? 3 tsp epsom salt, betta dechlorinater

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters? n/a

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment