Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-04-2012, 07:16 PM   #1 
MadameDesu

Preparing for a New Friend

Hello,

I'm currently preparing to get a new betta and would really appreciate any and all advice!

Here's my shopping list:
Plastic 2 1/2 Drum Bowl
Aquasafe Water Conditioner
Thermometer
Hydor Slim Heater
Gravel
Gravel Siphon
Leaf hammock (how cute!)
Pineapple house
HBH Food

Here are some questions I have:

1. Is this a suitable tank environment for a Betta? I've been having second thoughts about it. I'd like to keep it at 2 1/2 gallons because I am a poor college student (also, I'd like to be able to keep him on my desk ), but if there's any kits out there that you guys would recommend, I'd love to see them!

2. How often would a 2.5 gal tank have to be cleaned? I was thinking 50% 2x a week, cleaning the gravel 1x a week. Does the fish have to come out during a 50% change or can I scoop water out and back in while the fish is in there? Can I use the siphon with a fish in the tank? (probably not)

3. How would I travel with him? Sometimes I go home on the weekends, about 45 min away. I don't want him to stress out too much!

Any additional advice is much appreciated! Thanks so much!

-MadameDesu
MadameDesu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 07:30 PM   #2 
peachesxo

I'd pass on the leaf hammock and go for a real anubia or two instead. You don't need a light to keep them alive and it will last you longer than the hammock, and your betta will like it a lot more guaronteed. Plus they are way prettier :D (I had a leaf hammock and it started falling apart after 2 days in the tank, plus there is a wire in it so if that were to come out of the material it can very easily injure or kill your betta..)