Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-05-2012, 08:49 PM   #1 
a123andpoof

What female or male would work?

Okay so I am very seriously considering breeding after I move. I can't decide who I want to breed though. I am still doing lots of research, but want to be able to look out for the perfect mate for either of them.
So as I am still learning about genetics what are the chances of getting some black milano (sp?) from Arashi (the guy below.) And would this be at all possible if I were to breed with a CT female. Maybe it's a dumb question, but thought I would ask if it is possible. http://ebetta.com/wp-content/uploads...-beta-fish.jpg
Also would it be possible to get no red in any of the spawn? As I would like to try to breed the red out. This is my guy below.

This is the female I also would like to breed not with guy above.

What color guy would be best?

Thanks
a123andpoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:05 PM   #2 
Bambi

The male will give you fry with red wash and I don''t think you'll get any melano. He has what is called 'wild type' coloring. If you breed him you'll probably get alot of multies and a few who look like him. This is just an assumption though and every spawn is different.

That female is adorable. :o If you could find a similar HM or HMPK male I'd breed her.
Bambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:14 PM   #3 
a123andpoof

I do think she has potential for beautiful spawn. My only problem is I would hate to possibly lose her due to breeding as she is my favorite. I would hate to lose him to but I have a little more of a bond with her.

Thanks for the input. If the red is going to be dominant may not breed him. Though would after a few generations would a full black be possible?
Old 02-06-2012, 02:23 PM   #4 
tpocicat