Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-10-2012, 12:23 PM   #1 
sbtlove

Getting my daughter a Betta

Hi,
Tomorrow is my daughter's birthday and the only thing she wants in the whole world is a fish. No big deal, I don't mind "fish duty".

But I had a few questions. I'm kind of new to the fish world. We've had fish in the past without a whole lot of luck, but its been a long time.

I'm considering a beta, they are tough little fish. The only experience I have with a beta is I bought my sister one about 6 years ago when she was 12. I got a small aquarium with a filter from wal-mart, went out and picked out a fish. Set it up and put him in there that day. And he lived for a good 3-4 years and that was with her forgetting to feed him regularly.

I guess my big question is, is there anything special I need to know about the Beta. (Other than they need to be kept solitary). Anything I need to do to help this fish thrive?

Thanks
sbtlove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:42 PM   #2 
SnowySurface

Info about bettas in general is in this thread: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=20058

and care info is in this thread:
http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=49160

The most basic supplies for a betta are
2.5-3 gallon tank
water conditioner
gravel
Heater - they are tropical and need 78-80*F water
Thermometer - this makes sure the heater is working
Filter - tetra 3i is good for small tanks
Someplace to hide like a small cave - some members use coffee mugs
A few silk plants
Food - pellets and bloodworms (frozen is better than freeze dried)

Water changes would be 1 50% and 1 100% each week.

Last edited by SnowySurface; 02-10-2012 at 12:45 PM. Reason: Added a second link to basic fish care
SnowySurface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:49 PM   #3 
a123andpoof