Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-16-2012, 03:26 PM   #1 
magpie

A bunch of questions for you

Hey there,

This past fall I got back into fishkeeping after a number of years. I now have a planted 65-gallon community tank and it makes me happy.

I was talking about it with a co-worker, and we thought it might be nice and add some hominess to the clinic if we got a small tank (10-15 gallons) for a Betta and possibly some other small fish. I work at an outpatient Physical and Hand Therapy clinic - I'm a hand therapist but also am the supervisor of the clinicians there.

I have only had a couple of Betta before, however this was back when I was a kid - we had them in a large brandy-snifter-type glass and although they lived a long time (and even made bubble nests), I know now that it's not the way to keep these fish happy. Now I've been reading about these guys, and there's so much to learn!

So... I'd like to get a male Betta. I'm lucky in that I have a great LFS that I can get the fish from, so they'll be more likely to be healthy. I'm not sure which kind I want to get - from what I've read the personality is more fish-to-fish than anything regarding tail-type (is this correct?)
They do have a bunch of wild Betta species, but I think for the clinic it's better to go with a well-recognized fish. Hopfeully then we can do a little Betta-keeping education!

Today I looked at tanks - there are 10 and 15 gallon kits to be had. I'm leaning toward 15 gallons.

I've read that Bettas don't do well with heavy filter flow, so is it better to just piece out the tank instead of getting a kit, and then get a smaller filter than I need? Or should I get a kit and then baffle the filter?