Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Journals
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-21-2012, 03:56 AM   #1 
iElBeau

Smile The Life Of Beau

So I'm gonna start one of these I think... All about my fish. I'm gonna try and train him I think :)

I'll tell you a little bit about him, how I got him, what's happened the last month, and a bit about me too first though.

So I have insomnia which is why I've been on this site for probably 48 hours straight... This is also why I'm starting this at nearly 4:30 in the morning. I'm a university student, studying to become a registered dietitian, who recently bought herself a betta fish.. who I decided I'm going to train.

I bought Beau on January 2nd, 2012. He's pretty young I think... when I bought him, I was with my step mom, who also bought a fish whom she named Felix. the usual story follows, with tiny tanks, no heater, etc. I know Beau is younger than Felix at least, because he was much smaller... so small, the pellets I'd bought him, he couldn't even fit in his mouth, and Felix could eat them whole! So this began the beginning of my fish endeavours.

Beau didn't eat for 5 days after I brought him home, just because he was stressed. When he did eat or show an interest in food, it was lame flake food, which he would spit out. Clearly, he didn't like that. I bought pellets, and realized, he couldn't fit them in his mouth! So I started soaking them in a bit of tank water, then cutting them up into quarters for him... haha, you should have seen my boyfriend's reaction the first time I asked him to take care of my fish for the weekend!