Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-21-2012, 06:29 PM   #1 
Zero186

Well Hey There Betta Fish!

Hey Everyone!

Im new to the forum I looked around and found this place and it seemed like the right place to settle down. For the most part im new to keeping bettas, but i have kept 4 different Reef tanks and experience in marine tanks. I just don't know much about keeping bettas tank out side of the normal gallon tank with no heater. so time to get down to what im running currently
-2.5g Minibow with Aqua culture 10watt Mini Fluorescent bulb.
-Hydor mini heater keeps the tank between 76-80

The tank had a Moss ball and my Black Half Moon Betta which both have been pretty happy with the set up. I dont test for anything just siphon the waste out of the gravel and that normally ends up with a 50% water change every week. I dont run any kind of filter in the tank so there isnt any water current( is that a issue?)

Is there anything anyone can recommend doing I would just like to keep the tank and the inhabitants healthy as possible.

Thank you for any comments!
Zero186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:19 PM   #2 
brownmane

Welcome to TFK. There are lots of helpful, knowledgeable people here.

Nice to hear that you have a heater for your betta tank. Bettas love to be warm. They don't particularly like strong currents, and since yours is in a smaller tank, your betta would not have room to avoid the current. Sounds like you've got fish keeping experience and you are keeping up with water changes. I am assuming that you are also using water conditioner when doing your water changes.

If you have a look around on the site, a good quick reference is the "tropical fish profiles" tab at the top of the page.
brownmane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:48 PM   #3 
Zero186