Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-22-2012, 08:41 PM   #1 
jterrero

First Fry Hatch, please help.. need some questions answered

Hey Everyone.

This is my first attempt at breeding (Which was not my intention) and I'm a little nervous after my fry hatched. I have a few questions, if you could please answer them I'd greatly appreciate it

1) After fry start free swimming, at what point do I take out Male Betta. What if certain fry are swimming but others are still nested

2) After fry start free swimming, at what point do I start feeding

3) When is it okay to turn off the light I have setup near the tank

4) Is there a tutorial our there or some step by step instructions on the "SAFEST" way to start replacing water

5) The bottom of the tank seems dirty, I do not have any filtration in. What can I do to clean up without disturbing / hurting fry.

thanks in advanced
jterrero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:13 PM   #2 
LittleBeta

O.O I will be stalking this thread! I need some of these questions awensered for future references XD
LittleBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:18 PM   #3 
Curlyfatbottom

Three days or 72 hours after hatching
That is when they become free swimming,when you start feeding very little amount of food and safe to take the dad out
The light depend on you.
The reason you leave the light on is for the male to see the egg/fry when it's dark
Another reason is that some male get trigger to eat when it's morning( you don't want that to happen)
In the first two week
The fry are to small to do anything
pretty much all you can do is add small amount of water each day(same temperature)make sure the fry is about a week old