Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-25-2012, 04:21 AM   #1 
SacredSeaMonkey

New Betta, new tank, completely new fish owner, HELP!

I just got a beta and the fishy necessities from Wal-Mart today. Well I went back to the store to exchange a 1 gallon "Betta" bowl for a 5 gallon tank with a filter. I am completely new to owning fish and I don't want to harm my Betta in any way. I didn't know about fish less cycling of the tanks or else it will harm him! I also got a Betta care kit but it says it is safe to use in any size bowl UP TO two gallons. Ugh.

Well anyways, he is still in his Wal-Mart cup, for how long he has been in it prior to the purchase I do not know. No associate was in this area (go figure, nothing new) to help me. How long can he survive in this cup and do I feed him while this tank "cycles"? please help. any and all info will help greatly!!!
SacredSeaMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:45 AM   #2 
freemike

I was in this position about a month ago. I highly recommend if you are going to cycle your tank you do it the fishless cycle method and get a smaller tank for the time being. I imagine you have a 25 or 50 watt heater. For 10ish bucks at petco you can get a medium (1.75 gallon) or large (3.3) pet keeper. Keep your Betta in one of these with the heater. and do bi-weekly water changes 100% on the medium everytime and 50% and 100% on the 3+ gallon one.