Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2012, 10:59 AM   #1 
carolinagirl
New Member
 
carolinagirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Ammonia level dropped?

Ok, so yesterday the ammonia level in my tank was 0.25 ppm and this morning I rechecked it before I did a water change and the level was down to 0. What is that about? I mean, I'm still learning and all but does that kind of stuff happen?
carolinagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:31 AM   #2 
Geomancer
Member
 
Geomancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Yes, it can, it can also fall into the realm of inaccuracies with tests. "strips" are known to be inaccurate, and those stick on wheels are the worst.

However, bacteria does exist that converts ammonia to nitrite, which is even more toxic for fish. Another bacteria will convert nitrite into nitrate (with an A) which is the least toxic of the three. This 'cycle' is a necessity for long living healthy fish, however it is near impossible to obtain in small bowls. There is no magic number for tank size, but generally speaking anything less than 5 gallons isn't going to hold a stable cycle long term.
Geomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:02 PM   #3 
carolinagirl
New Member
 
carolinagirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geomancer View Post
Yes, it can, it can also fall into the realm of inaccuracies with tests. "strips" are known to be inaccurate, and those stick on wheels are the worst.

However, bacteria does exist that converts ammonia to nitrite, which is even more toxic for fish. Another bacteria will convert nitrite into nitrate (with an A) which is the least toxic of the three. This 'cycle' is a necessity for long living healthy fish, however it is near impossible to obtain in small bowls. There is no magic number for tank size, but generally speaking anything less than 5 gallons isn't going to hold a stable cycle long term.
Oh, ok. I didn't think of checking the nitrite levels. I will definitely check that out soon. And luckily I'm not using the strips (:
Posted via Mobile Device
carolinagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Level Won't Go Down fishman12 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 9 08-06-2011 05:31 PM
Ammonia level 1.0 is this bad? Dis2cruise Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 4 01-23-2011 06:05 AM
Cycling blues... Ammonia hasn't dropped LMac54 Betta Fish Care 10 07-29-2010 08:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.