Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-28-2012, 01:03 AM   #1 
Kiwimommy

Water change question?

So I have a 10 gallon, 80 degree temp, filtered with one betta. I've noticed every few days the water level gets low enough that I need to add about 1/2 gallon of water or the filter gets too strong for my girl (Yes, I need a filter sponge. Going to get one tomorrow)
So I add roughly 1-2 gallons per week, depending on evaporation.
The tank is clean, never cloudy and seems alright..
I was wondering if the evaporation and addition of 1-2 gallons per week is enough of a "water change" for this size tank.
I'm 23 week pregnant right now and can't do 100% water changes because I can't lift the tank anymore. I can do 50% if need be, but so far I've noticed my fish seems better off with additions of small portions of water as opposed to super changes every week/every other week. When I used to do that, she'd be a stressed out fish for days. Now she almost seems to enjoy the new water. She'll swim to the top and swim around as I add the water.
I will be adding a couple more betta girls soon.. Should I increase water changes when I do that?
I feel like I'm asking silly questions, but I adore this fish and would hate to cause her any issues. She's colored up soooo well lately and is very active, has an awesome personality shining through.. All that fun stuff
Kiwimommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:41 AM   #2 
spazoid

Is your tank cycled?

more fishies=more ammonia=more water changes.

It might be easier on you fish if you scoop her out and then accilimate her to the new water. 10g at once is a big change for her, many variables could be stressing her. Chemistry, temp, etc. you need to get the dirty water out, especially if you add more fish. Use a siphon to remove water into a bucket and take trips to dump it so its not a whole 10g load at once.