Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2012, 09:12 PM   #1 
freemike
Member
 
freemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hickory, NC (USA)
Can too much ammonia freeze your cycle? (Fishless)

I'm really bad at reading those color keys. Anyways the other day I had Nitrates, Nitrites, and Ammonia. My nitrates have went up since then, nitrites went down to 0 and ammonia stayed consistent. It was a deep emerald green either 4 or 8 PPM. I was wondering if this would have frozen my cycle? I did a major water change tonight right at 5 gallons. This brought down the ammonia to either 1 or 2 PPM. Will this get it moving again or have is there another thing that would cause a cycle to freeze all nitrites being converted to nitrates and leaving the ammonia high?

Last edited by freemike; 03-04-2012 at 09:14 PM.
freemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:11 AM   #2 
Draug Isilme
Member
 
Draug Isilme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arkansas
Supposedly when ammonia stays at an uber high level, nitrites that might be in the water become dormant- at least that's what I was told. I'd look up more info to back it up, but nothing's coming up >.< Anyway, when I had my ammonia about 2-3 ppm's, I had to do a large water change to keep it at least 1ppm or lower; then a few days after I noticed that nitrites were starting to show, so I figured it was true xD Just wait a few days and keep it 1ppm or lower and you should start seeing results soon. Key part in cycling a tank.. patience and knowing it'll work with the method you're doing even if it seems like it's doing just the opposite >.>
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:28 AM   #3 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Too high an ammonia level can also cause the wrong kind of bacteria to grow. I believe you don't want it to go any higher than 4ppm during a fishless cycle.

The growth of bacteria to convert ammonia to nitrites is also one of the slowest parts of the cycle so it's not uncommon for it to seem to take a long time.
LittleBettaFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 12:24 PM   #4 
Draug Isilme
Member
 
Draug Isilme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arkansas
^ Huh, didn't know that the 'wrong bacteria' could grow with high ppm's... Thanks for the added info ^.^ I've learned something today!!!
Draug Isilme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 06:31 PM   #5 
Bombalurina
Member
 
Bombalurina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
I've heard 5ppm touted as the ideal to encourage nitrites without encouraging badness.
Bombalurina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless Cycle - Ammonia Levels cataze Betta Fish Care 1 01-26-2012 09:15 PM
Fishless Cycle with Ammonia mywingedhorses Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 03-22-2011 06:38 PM
Sourcing ammonia for a fishless cycle Amethyst Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 02-19-2011 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.