Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2012, 02:16 AM   #11 
Mumma
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
That's the thing. It will be cycling or cycled. Even with daily water changes the bacteria will still be colonizing the sponge as they consume the ammonia produced between water changes.
If you have anyother tanks you can get a handful of gravel and add it to the new filter or hang it in a media bag next to the filter intake. That will help the cycle along.
Mumma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:13 PM   #12 
DoberMom
Member
 
DoberMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County, Cali
I'm confused Mumma, you're saying that if I have any other NEW tanks, to add gravel from my current 5gal to help the cycling of a NEW tank?

So it is possible to cycle a tank with a sponge filter then? I will be getting a 10gal in a few weeks time. I am planning on cycling that one, probably fish-less. Another question, in a cycled tank, do I only do water changes when the ammonia spikes? If so, how much of a water change is appropriate?
DoberMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:35 PM   #13 
Mumma
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Yes, you can add anything from an established tank to a new cycling tank and it will help speed up the cycle. The nitrifying bacteria affix themselves to surfaces in the tank. They live on the sides, decor, plants, substrate and mostly the filter. So moving some of these items to a new tank and adding an ammonia source (from a fish, bottled ammoina, shrimp, etc) will jump start the cycle. If you add enough 'seeded' media from an established filter you can instantly cycle at tank to handle a small bioload of fish. I have done this many times

A sponge filter will cycle just like any other filter. The bacteria prefer filters to colonize over other surfaces of the tank because of the higher water flow and oxygen available in the filter.

A cycled tank will not have any ammonia or nitrite. It will have rising nitrAte. Ideally you want to keep it 20ppm or under. When cycling a tank with fish there will be ammonia and nitrIte. When they reach 0.25ppm or more you need to do one or more water changes to keep it low. .25ppm of ammonia or nitrite will not harm the fish. Depending on the temperature and pH of the tank levels up to 1ppm could be safe. I recommended not letting it get that high just to be on the safe side.

When fishless cycling you don't need to worry if ammonia or nitrite get high because there are no fish in the tank to get harmed.

Last edited by Mumma; 03-14-2012 at 04:36 PM. Reason: More info
Mumma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:10 PM   #14 
sparkyjoe
Member
 
sparkyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Ohio, USA
OK, I have a question... I hope this isn't considered thread hijacking!

I just received a new 5 gallon (yes, I'm now obsessed with bettas!) and would like to move the process along if possible. I do have another 5 gal that is cycled, but I don't want to risk messing it up by removing any of the gravel or media.

I'm wondering if it's possible to hang something in the cycled tank, like a bag of Fluval SPEC Biomax (just an example) that could then move to the new tank to help it cycle faster?

Yeah, I know, patience! But I have my eye on a new betta, but I don't want to get him and put him in the cycling tank, and I don't want to try keeping him in a medium pet keeper (which is the only other thing I have available) cause I hated the frequent water changes.

ETA: Oh, and how long would I want to leave the media in the cycled tank before moving it?
sparkyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:23 PM   #15 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
I don't know about the media thing, but if you change your water from your cycled tank, you can put it in the new tank to help..
For the media thing I'm guessing it might not work well.. Your cycled tank is already balanced with bacteria, and I don't think many more bacteria would be forming on a new surface. :/
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:41 PM   #16 
fishy friend2
Member
 
fishy friend2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olympia View Post
I don't know about the media thing, but if you change your water from your cycled tank, you can put it in the new tank to help..
Honestly I would like to know where you have attained this info as its not true. Changing water from an already established tank will not aid or complete the cycle in any given way, most of the benificial nitrifying bactia survives and establishes where there is an exeptable amount of flow, and something to hang on to, like a filter in the media. Or in the case of an under gravel filter it will colonize in the gravel, not in the water. So just adding water from an established tank won't help much at all, your best bet is too just change a small percentage of the media. About 1 third will do

And to the real question, just letting media sit on the side of the tank won't help at all, but you can cut a small amount if media from the already established tank, that will help
fishy friend2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:44 PM   #17 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Wops. xD I guess that is different. I used my uncycled 2.5 gallon water in my larger tank that I'm cycling to put in some more ammonia, I was told that would help, totally different from using a cycled tank's water.. Sorry.
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:54 PM   #18 
sparkyjoe
Member
 
sparkyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olympia View Post
Wops. xD I guess that is different. I used my uncycled 2.5 gallon water in my larger tank that I'm cycling to put in some more ammonia, I was told that would help, totally different from using a cycled tank's water.. Sorry.
NP. I was already planning on adding some water from my cycled tank to add ammonia. Yes. I do have an un-cycled 3 gallon that has the same type of filter, so I guess I could put that "used" filter on the new tank to give it a small jump start?

Unfortunately I have small internal filters in my tanks that don't have a good way to cut off, or remove part of the media. In the future I might look at changing the larger tanks to a HOB type where I can have either a bio-wheel or a unit that allows for various typed of media.

Live and learn.
sparkyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:57 PM   #19 
fishy friend2
Member
 
fishy friend2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Adding ammonia to a cycling tank without it will help, but water from a cycled tank should only have an almost unreadable amount of ammonia, so it's not worth it
fishy friend2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:30 PM   #20 
sparkyjoe
Member
 
sparkyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishy friend2 View Post
Adding ammonia to a cycling tank without it will help, but water from a cycled tank should only have an almost unreadable amount of ammonia, so it's not worth it
Yeah, this would be from my UNcycled 3.5 gallon.
sparkyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About To Cycle My Tank BettaMan Betta Fish Care 15 10-13-2010 07:31 AM
Can you cycle a 2.5 gal tank? emeltee Betta Fish Care 11 08-14-2010 10:57 PM
How do you Cycle a tank? New2Betas Betta Fish Care 2 11-15-2009 06:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.