Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-11-2012, 05:39 PM   #1 
Jabu Jabu

Making the best of a 1 gallon bowl...

I've never owned a fish but I ended up feeling the need to rescue this poor little betta at Walmart. I got a standard bowl I think is 1 gallon, some rocks and a cave like thing for her to mess around in. Reading up of course now I realize this is less than ideal but I'm a broke student and literally can't afford anything more right now. It's a girl, and is pretty small but looks happy and active in her bowl for the moment at least.

I have individually heated rooms and I think I can keep her at the right temperature without a problem. But I don't know the best way to deal with her water and all that. Most of the tips assume a proper container. I put her in distilled water at first (bad I guess?) and also got some of those tap water cleaning tablets in a "starter kit" with food.

How often should I change the water, with what type of water, and is there a good way to do this without stressing her out since apparently it will have to be done often with this size bowl? Also any other tips on keeping her healthy until I can afford a better set up would be appreciated.
Jabu Jabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 05:53 PM   #2 
Olympia
TFK Moderator

I'd do two changes a week- A 100% and a 50%, or two 100%. Some people say one some say the other.
Distilled water is bad because there are no minerals. Use tap water, and I guess those tablets you got? Most conditioners are liquid so I don't really know about the tablets..