Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-20-2012, 06:32 PM   #1 
KappaTheImp

Help Nursing a Walmart Betta

Hi all. I recently made an unwise fish purchase from the dreaded walmart. He died three days later. They replaced the fish of course, and I'm thrilled to have the opportunity to help any of these that were probably destined for the toilet. The problem is, I'm not very experienced with sick fish! My first betta is healthy and happy as a clam.

I'm treating my sick baby for ich, as he DOES appear to have some white spots around his head and gills, and I wanted to get him medicated ASAP before he went the way of his predecessor. Right now he's in a little half gallon container that I intend to use as a sort of hospital tank with frequent water changes and the whole 9. I have a gallon aquarium I'm planning on moving him to once I'm sure he's healthy.

As I said, I believe he's suffering some ich, but I think that he's experienced a heck of a loss of color too. I'm almost sure that he's the same fish I was looking at three days prior, but he's almost white instead of blue now. I've uploaded some photos, so please have a look and give me any advice you can.

http://imgur.com/N0Al8

http://imgur.com/5mYjM
KappaTheImp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:24 PM   #2 
KappaTheImp

Uh, erm. And since I don't know how to edit my first post... I realized I should give some info on his behavior as well as his appearance. He looks like he's trying to scratch himself on the gravel and the fake plant in the tank. He's also not keeping his food down very well. Right now I've got him on a high protein flake food with something called blood shrimp thrown in. He seems to be able to hold down the blood shrimp, but spits the flakes back out. He still seems to be fairly active, but if he's not able to eat, I wonder how long he'll last.