Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-22-2012, 12:32 AM   #1 
True Indigo

Ripped Up Fins--Plant Root's Fault?

Hello all. I'm a new user to these forums but I am not new to the information you all have gathered here (in which I've been using extensively as a personal resource).

I'm new to owning a Betta Fish and my first one died within the week I had him due to accidental over-feeding (I got terrible advice from one of the Cat-people at Petco) and have since learned my lesson. Thanks to my digress at my first Betta's illness, I saw plenty of the posts here that dealt with care.

I currently have a Half-Moon Double Tail named Gyarados. I'd show a picture but he's deathly afraid of cameras (and the camera on my phone is terrible in quality).

I recently went through a panic because I noticed one day his double-tail was shredded on the bottom portion. I had to go to work so I couldn't do anything at the moment. But when I returned 6 hours later, I saw that the condition worsened terribly! Not only was his bottom double-tail scrapped up more, but his top portion was as well!. I isolated him immediately wondering if it was fin rot. But once I looked at him closely, I ruled that out. Then I read that it could be tail-biting. I've seen him chase his tail slowly out of playfulness, but never come close to reaching his fins (plus they aren't chunks, it's clean rips in the edges).

I put in some salt and took out everything but the soft moss ball in his then 1-gallon tank. The next day, I saw the clear edges of fin-healing and was content.

The next day I put transferred him into a new 5 gallon tank with a new decoration (making sure it had no rough or sharp edges) and adding new soft-leaved aquatic plants.