Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-22-2012, 01:54 PM   #1 
jediwing

Absolute Beginner. Good advice needed!

I bought a dragon scale betta last Friday from Petsmart. I named him Ninja and I already love the little guy. He is my first fish but I followed some bad advice when I bought him. I've been reading through the forums for a couple of days now including the FAQ sticky for beginners. All of you seem very knowledgeable and would love any advice!

Here's the *cough* long-winded rant short *ahem* I mean...short and sweet version!

Soooo, I listened to a friend's bad advice for the first few days since I knew absolutely nothing about taking care of fish. Here are some cringe worthy examples: "put one or two drops of bettafix in the bowl everyday" and "you can just put him in the water" (lukewarm tap water without any acclimation whatsoever) *Sigh*. At least she told me to put prime in the water before hand.

Thank goodness I found these forums and unlearned all the advice my friend gave me. In her defense, she is new at it too, and was taking advice from a veterinary-in-training who claims to be a fish expert (Yikes!)

My problem:

Ninja, my fish, because I didn't know anything, is not in a very ideal environment at the moment. It's a pretty bad one....

He is in a glass 1 gallon bowl with no heater *face palm*. I did two 100% water changes this week so far with tap water that was room temperature (let it sit out for 24 hours) with prime. I switched out the hard plastic decorations with soft plant ones (tested on a pair of panty hose).

I do not have the fan on in my room and the AC is off (room temperature at 78F). I also wrapped a small towel around the base of the bowl, and put him semi-close to a window in the hopes to warm up his bowl until I get all of his gear.

Here is what I bought him. Am I missing anything?