Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2012, 05:58 PM   #1 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
Thoughts on sponge filter for 5.5gal tank?

So I just upgraded Paarthurnax to a 5.5gal tank (yay) and he is just loving it - it's so cute! I'll get pictures the next time I'm in my room when the sun is present.

However, I noticed how quickly the water gets cloudy and it bothers me. I figured I would just keep up with daily and weekly water changes (because I don't want to cycle this tank), but even after just a day of him being in there, the water was already gross. Messy little guy.

So I've decided I'm going to get him a filter. I was doing some research and came across this - http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...54&pcatid=3954 It requires an air stone/air pump, which I have in in my goldfish tank next to Paarth's tank.

I just wanted to know everyone's thoughts on these filters? Are they any good?

My parents are going to shoot me if I have to buy another thing that's going to need to be plugged in and I don't exactly have the free-will to spend money right now after purchasing a bunch of stuff for my goldfish - and filters are pricey..

If someone else has a better option for a 5.5gallon let me know. I want my tanks to be a quiet as possible, so keep that in mind if you have a suggestion please :3

Last edited by Wolfie305; 03-23-2012 at 06:00 PM.
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:20 PM   #2 
mattoboy
Member
 
mattoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Here is one, but again you need a source of air :/

http://www.kensfish.com/product3000.html
mattoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:44 PM   #3 
sparkyjoe
Member
 
sparkyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Ohio, USA
I've never had a sponge filter, but I thought you could run multiple filters off of one air pump by using a splitter to route the tubing to both tanks?

Again, never had a sponge filter, but in my research I thought that's what I had read; I'd thought of using this type of setup if/when I need to replace me internal filters. Maybe something like that requires a more powerful air pump?

Hopefully one of the more experienced members can give you more/better advice.
sparkyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:49 PM   #4 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
Mattoboy - Like sparkyjoe said, can't I just split off from the air pump I already have?
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:50 PM   #5 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
A gang valve will allow you to run multiple filters off one pump. I run around 6-7 off mine currently.
LittleBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:59 PM   #6 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
Okay cool, good to know :D My pump came with a splitter for one, which is all I need for now.
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:15 PM   #7 
Bombalurina
Member
 
Bombalurina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
I like sponge filters. I have one in my shrimp tank. :)
Bombalurina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:19 PM   #8 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
I second the sponge filter idea. I love them! I will never use a power filter in my betta tanks ever again.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:42 PM   #9 
freemike
Member
 
freemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hickory, NC (USA)
Since we are talking about sponges... How fast do they need to be bubbling to be effective.
freemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:44 PM   #10 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
I just ordered this - http://www.amazon.com/Hagen-A900-Sin...558352&sr=8-10

Is it any good? I really like the sponge filter from what I've been reading so I am excited to set it up.
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sponge Filter for Betta tank? AmyC00 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 01-16-2012 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.