Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-26-2012, 03:18 PM   #1 
rubenhak

Fluval Chi and Betta

Hi Everybody,

I'm pretty new to aquariums and this is my first post in this forum. My betta died few days ago and I'd like to start over again and do it the right way now.

I've got Fluval Chi 5 gallon aquarium. Ideally I'd like to have natural plants in it. Which plants would you guys recommend to make the new betta happy and that would work with my tank? What kind of additional stuff would I need to keep the aquarium healthy? Should I first set up aquarium with plants for some time, when it is in good shape then try to add the betta?

What kind of stones/graves would be good for the betta? I used to have small gravel which i replaced with larger white stones. Would that make any difference?

I've noticed some posts regarding high water flow of the fluval chi filter. Should I would some cheesecloth to reduce the water flow? Also regarding the lighting is the power of LED light sufficient for real plants? Is it good for the betta?

Thanks,
Ruben
rubenhak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:19 PM   #2 
rubenhak

Should i get some kind of water testing kits to check when if the water is good ph/ammonia level? Which ones do you recommend? Also , are there any test kits available to check if there are any harmful bacterias?
Old 03-26-2012, 04:36 PM   #3 
Sheldon31