Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-27-2012, 01:43 AM   #1 
LugiaChan

Lightbulb Non-toxic betta toys/hiding areas?

What are some good ideas for betta fish toys they'd love to play with that are absolutely harmless and non toxic for betta fish?

(I've tried searching this topic before and on youtube, it's a little difficult to find).

It'll be nice to include some ideas that are great for low income people too, not only myself. I plan on buying real plants and drift wood in the future- they're very hard to find locally so for now i'm wondering what I can do in the mean time.

I do prefer using real materials and I have aquarium sealant I can stick things together with. =) I'm an artist too, so anything that is perfectly non toxic will work for me (you can be creative, just check to be sure it's fine).

I have...

*stones outside (I want to know if these are safe, if they are would a 1:9 vinegar wash be acceptable? Should I detoxify them in water if so?)

*fake stones I glued together to form an open dragon's mouth I plan on working on to attach a body it can swim through*

*driftwood outside and beaches- the only problem is I keep doubting that letting it sit in water to detoxify it wont clean it fully or completely. I'm scared to do so.

*around the house stuff.

What chemicals should the items say on it for it to be safe?
*Is resin good? Any ideas on anything else? thank you, I like any and all ideas on this topic :) And your input helps!!

Last edited by LugiaChan; 03-27-2012 at 01:46 AM.
LugiaChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 10:48 AM   #2 
Olympia
TFK Moderator

Driftwood is debatable.. Some people say yay some nay.