Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-27-2012, 10:34 PM   #1 
MadameDesu

Filter Woes

Hello all!

I have a few concerns with my filter. I have a Whisper3i in my 3 gallon Kritter Keeper that's running without any issues on my part or my fish's.

I started this thread because I heard ... things about carbon filters. Some people say that they're useless and that I should get rid of it altogether. I haven't changed the filter and don't plan on doing it because I thinking I may be starting to grow some bacteria. I
Is this good enough for now? I've heard that sponge filters work best for bacteria, but I don't know if I could use sponge in my 3i.
What would you recommend?

-MadameDesu
MadameDesu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:57 PM   #2 
Laki

I'm no expert but I thought I'd bump the thread..

I was told in tanks under 5g that a cycle will be insanely hard to maintain. Therefore I was advised against getting filters. For tanks under 5g you still need to up the cleanings as you would in one without a filter (1x 50% and 1x 100%) so the filter does not have time to grow sufficient bacteria.
I could be wrong!! but that was why I didn't bother with filters. Also, I cannot handle two 5 gallons bc of my Chronic LBP.
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:31 AM   #3 
freemike