Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-29-2012, 11:35 AM   #1 
loobylou

what on earth is this?!?

Hi im new to fish owning, bought my first betta on sunday and hes only just started eating and being active today (thursday) havent done a water change yet as wanted to let him settle, came back to this today its on both suckers on the thermometer and the knob on the top can anyone fill me in as to what on earth it is?

loobylou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:20 PM   #2 
betta lover1507

i actually have no idea, it freaked me out. all i know i think that is NOT from the betta. looks like a fungus, but have no idea why it is on equipment
betta lover1507 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:33 PM   #3 
kfryman

Looks almost like a foam, though I have never seen something like it. I would take it back and tell them/ show them what it is, it could be toxic you never know.
kfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #4 
youlovegnats

Someone suggested to me that it might be a bacterial bloom.
I'd disinfect it with vinegar and hot water and rinse it really well. Then see if it comes back.
youlovegnats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:45 PM   #5 
Sivan

Touch it.

What does it feel like? If its foam then...that's just strange. If its soft it could be a fungus which is very BAD for your fish. Do a 100% water change in hot water (remember, NO soap) and thoroughly scrub all decoration sand the thermometer. I would also keep an eye out on your fish because fungus disease can be quick and deadly.

If after the water change it comes back then post here again. Perhaps with more information we can determine what that stuff is and if maybe it is from a reaction from something within the tank.
Sivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 10:21 PM   #6 
lvandert