Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-29-2012, 04:24 PM   #1 
phoenix888

Compatability opinions

I have a 30L tank and one Betta, hoping to get him some friends. I have been told neon tetras would be a good choice but then have also read on here that not so much. Also, opinions about the tank size: 30L / 7.7 gallon, is it big enough for one Betta and soe friends or should I consider somehow dividing it to house two Bettas? Dividing it would be hard for me, this is my first aquarium! I am still learning, reading every day about Bettas and aquarium care, it just gets confusing with all the contradicting information out there!
phoenix888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:42 PM   #2 
xjenuhfur

I'm going to assume you've got a filter and a heater. :)
Either way, I'm no expert on stocking but I'd look into some shrimp to test his aggression. Something cheap like ghost shrimp.
I'm not absolutely positive on the neon tetras, but I think that 1) They are a schooling fish and need to be in numbers of 5+ to reduce fin nipping and 2) That they will eventually outgrow the tank space.

If anything try aqadvisor.com :)
xjenuhfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:46 PM   #3 
xjenuhfur

Double post: And if you divide you can make your own dividers out of craft mesh and report binders. Its pretty easy you just gotta make sure to measure twice and cut once. :) If divided they would have approx. 15L/4gal to themselves. Which is a good size.
xjenuhfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 05:25 PM   #4 
phoenix888

I will give it a go, have looked up the info on how to make them, thanks to your suggestion. I am getting really excited about having this great home set up!!
Old 03-29-2012, 05:44 PM   #5 
Micho

Hrm, you could divide it if you wanted another betta. 3g each sounds okay.