Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2012, 01:21 PM   #1 
PenguinsCanFlyy
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Water Testing?

Hello, I currently bought a "Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Freshwater Master Test Kit" and I got these readings from my tank.

ph - 7.6
high ph - 7.4
ammonia - 0.25ppm
nitrite - 0ppm
nitrate - 5.0ppm

Can you guys explain to me what should be the right readings for my betta, and how to fix it if their wrong. PLEASE AND THANK YOU!
PenguinsCanFlyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 02:24 PM   #2 
Micho
Member
 
Micho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
No clue what they mean by "high pH" means, but whatever.

Have you cycled your tank? Because right now it seems to be in the cycling progress. Usually in an established cycled tank there should be no signs of ammonia, and nitrItes, nitrAtes at around 5 ~ 10ppm. That usually means it's cycled.

There is that 0.25ppm of ammonia, I would do a quick water change, 50% water change, and only water.

After that retest your water parameters.
Micho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 02:37 PM   #3 
wystearya
Member
 
wystearya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micho View Post
No clue what they mean by "high pH" means, but whatever.
The High pH just has a higher range. It can go up past 8 where the other pH test only goes to 7.6 ;)

-------

Please do still add dechlorinator!! (Not 'only" water.) <3
wystearya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 03:14 PM   #4 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Be sure to follow the directions to a "T" especially with the time lines of adding drops, shaking between and reading results.....it has a high user error until you get used to using it...

Also, on the #2 nitrate reagent bottle-be sure and shake, bang on the table and shake some more-it tends to settle and can give skewed results..

Rinse the vials well under running tepid water and air dry-pouring the tested water down the drain followed by running the faucet for a few seconds.

You also need to run test on your source water both with and without any of the additives you normally use in the tank.

Start a log book and compare all your numbers-this can tell you several things....and give you a base line...

If additives cause any changes
CO2 contents of the source water after a 24h degas
If you have ammonia, nitrite, nitrate in the source water
pH of both source and tank-this will tell you if something in the tank itself or additives are causing pH changes
Levels of the tank itself-remembering that basing water changes on water prams alone is not a good idea since we also have DOC's (dissolved organic compounds) in the tank that can be harmful
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:15 PM   #5 
PenguinsCanFlyy
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
thank you everybody !!!
PenguinsCanFlyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 05:56 PM   #6 
PenguinsCanFlyy
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I did another Test when I got home,This is for my 10 gallon Tank and my results were

ph - 7.6
ammonia - 0ppm
nitrite - 0ppm
nitrate - 0ppm

:]
PenguinsCanFlyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:50 PM   #7 
Micho
Member
 
Micho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenguinsCanFlyy View Post
I did another Test when I got home,This is for my 10 gallon Tank and my results were

ph - 7.6
ammonia - 0ppm
nitrite - 0ppm
nitrate - 0ppm

:]
So you haven't cycled your tank? I highly suggest you cycle it.
Micho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:57 PM   #8 
PenguinsCanFlyy
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
i cycled it ,
PenguinsCanFlyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:01 PM   #9 
Micho
Member
 
Micho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenguinsCanFlyy View Post
i cycled it ,
The problem I see though is that your nitrAte levels are at 0ppm. Although ammonia and nitrItes should always be 0pm, nitrAtes should be around 5 ~ 10ppm.
Micho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:10 PM   #10 
PenguinsCanFlyy
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
what should i do to fix it ?
PenguinsCanFlyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, testing kit, water test

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Testing bettabax Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 09-20-2011 04:42 PM
prime water conditioner & water testing AliciaH Betta Fish Care 3 06-09-2010 09:26 PM
Testing the water jemma21 Betta Fish Care 6 09-09-2009 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.