Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-03-2012, 07:27 PM   #1 
arin

Help prego platies

I am very new to owning fish. I have had them for about 3 weeks now. have noticed that 2 of my platies bellies are getting bigger. If they are going to have babies i need advise on what to do.
arin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 06:26 PM   #2 
dfish23

Quote:
Originally Posted by arin View Post
I am very new to owning fish. I have had them for about 3 weeks now. have noticed that 2 of my platies bellies are getting bigger. If they are going to have babies i need advise on what to do.
well there are a few things you can do. First option is to put the female in a breeding trap that you can get at any local pet store and will either be a net kind or plastic (ive used both and either one seems to work just fine). when she is close to giving birth put her inside with some plants, real or fake.You can tell if she is close to giving birth by the shape of her stomach. It will go from very round shape to a somewhat squared off shape. Once shes done giving birth, which can take as long as a day, you can release her back into the tank. feed the fry at least 2 times a day, however 5 or 6 smaller meals would be better. Keep in mind though platies can give birth to up to 60 fry at a time. of course most of the time is more around 20 or 30 but still you have to take into account if you will have room for that many fish and if, you dint want to keep all of them where you can re home them.

Second option is to forget the breeding trap and "let nature take its course" and just add a good amount of floating plants, real or fake, to the tank for the fry to hide in. this usually results in only a couple fry making it to adulthood.
dfish23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 06:35 PM   #3 
Pitluvs

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfish23 View Post