Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-03-2012, 07:11 PM   #1 
GaspeGirl

Assistance - Anthony Acquires An Ailment!!

Greetings, all!

I am relatively new to the betta fish scene and I am sure enjoying my cool betta, Anthony. Except for a bloating scare when he ate Crusty, my RCS, everything has been moving along swimmingly (pardon the pun!). I still feel very badly about that incident and I was totally surprised when Anthony did him in because I had been watching the interaction like a hawk for a few days and Crusty was being totally ignored.

Anthony is a beautiful blue crown tail, bought him from PetSmart last September. He has tons of personality like most bettas and I have enjoyed watching him develop from a puny little cupped fish to a long finned spectacular looking fish.

He was living peacefully in his 16g NPT until I added some new plants approx 2 months ago. These plants came complete with numerous snails (RIP) and some kind of condition that covered the plants in brown material and eventually they died, despite my best pruning efforts. I ended up tearing 90% of them out. There is also brown algae (diatoms??) that sometimes grows on the tank glass. When I change the filter pad it is covered with this material.

I did a 100% water change on Sunday which involved removing Anthony and his tankmates, and imagine my horror when I spotted some sort of horrible fuzz growing on the ends of a few of his fins!! Looks like miniature cotton balls!! In my panicked researching through DarkMoon17's Betta Fish Disease and Treatment Part 1, I still cannot decide whether it is a fungus attack or fin/tail rot. I can't see any red streaking.

I stopped at PetSmart and bought some AQ salt tonight, will start with conservative treatment as recommended; just wondering if I could prevail upon more experienced fishkeepers for some advice and tips??