Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-06-2012, 06:39 AM   #1 
Ori

Cloudy Water Help

Sorry if the post is a bit long, I'm new to owning a Betta and want to give as much info as I can to help my little guy.
I have a 3 gallon tank with heater, filter, gravel, two soft fake furns and a little cave and thermometer. I had the tank all set up for a day before I got my Betta and rinsed everything and treated the water and let it stand for 24 hours with everything running and the water was clear. I got my little guy yesterday and fed him three pellets last night, one he swallowed and spat out which i scooped out, and the other two sank to the bottom. This morning when I woke up the water has gone cloudy not really thick cloud but it has gone a tad cloudy. I did an ammonia test and its at 1 ppm - what do I need to do?
Ori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:49 AM   #2 
Mo

Ammonia is a toxic substance that can harm fish in many given ways. Such as stresseing them out, lowering there immune system, being the main factor of diseases, and causing gill irritation, along with leaving an "ammonia burn" on the gills. These are the primary reasons to as why ammonia should be kept at minimal levels. Ideally zero would be the best. Any time it goes above that number, you need to imediwtely do a water change, the percentage will depend on how much is in the tank water. In this situation, you would want to do a 100% water change, and monitor ammonia

The amount of ammonia being produced is very elevated at this stage which is somewhat surprising to me, due to the amount of time that you have had the Betta in the tank. Ammonia magically appearing could be a sign of usually ammonia within your tap water. So have you tested the tap water for ammonia? If it does have it then ideally you would want to treat the water with prime or a similar product that rids water if ammonia