Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-06-2012, 10:11 PM   #1 
lilyth88

Upcoming Move...

So my boyfriend and I have been house-hunting for going on a month now. We toured about 6 homes today and narrowed it down to 2 that we are really in love with. We are set up for second showings of them next Tuesday, and most likely will be putting an offer in on one. That being said, I have never tried moving with fish before. I would love ideas and suggestions on how best to do it while providing minimum stress for my babies. I will definitely be testing the water in the new house since it is in a suburb of the city we are in now. (i.e. different water.) I expect if our offer is accepted, we would be actually moving in June, when our apartment lease is up.

Edit: I shouldn't say suburb. It is about 20 miles outside of town. Close enough to commute though.
lilyth88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 11:46 PM   #2 
ZergyMonster

Clean buckets with lids are the best way to transport fish around(if you don't have a clean bucket you can use the dirty bucket and cover it in a liner[such as a garbage bag]), you should gather all your fish that are fine being around each other and put them in a bucket with as much tank water than you can fit in it and seal it up. For aggressive fish like bettas, you should bag them up and keep them in or around your empty tank(s). You should take as much tank water as you can so they won't get stressed by the new water chemistry. When moving your tanks, be sure to keep the substrate moist and to make sure they won't be somewhere where they can break( I put mine in the backseat ).

Avoid bumps and heavy turns and they should be happy in their new home.
ZergyMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 12:41 AM   #3 
lilyth88

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZergyMonster View Post