Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-07-2012, 09:54 PM   #1 
sholee

Is this fin rot?

Sorry, i'm a novice when it comes to bettas and i noticed my betta's fin have frays and tears and was wondering if this was fin rot? or maybe tail biting?

Should i buy betta fix to help him cure his ripped fins? and anyway to stop him from biting his tail?

He's in a 75-78 degrees heated 2g tank.

sholee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:57 PM   #2 
Mo

No. I would expect it to be more so likely tailbiting due to his heavy finnagge. There is no guaranteed treatment, usually adding more decorations, and plants, upping the tank size, minimizing the flow, and keeping the stress level to a minimum along with changing a few decorations weekly or monthly to keep him occupied

Do you have any plastic plants or sharp decorations? This could also be a cause of the frayed fins as sharp decorations and plastic plants are notorious for ripping fins. Of you do have any, then ideally removing them and replacing them with silk plants, and soft decorations will result in minimal rips in the fins

Last edited by Mo; 04-07-2012 at 10:09 PM.
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:04 PM   #3 
NoahG

I'm going to agree with it looking like tail-biting, though it's hard to tell...is there damage to his anal fin as well? Closer to his ventral fins there?

If so that looks like it might be something else but, again, it's hard to really tell from the pictures. It looks sort of withered, for lack of a better word (and due to it making sense in a tired mind).
NoahG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:38 PM   #4 
Betta16

I see a spong bob pineaple it those pic and if its not tail bitting i would bet its rips on that, take it out of his tank and see if new rips show up.
Betta16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:43 PM   #5 
Mo